Back to Home

Bodyguard

A simple grocery run in these Backstreets shouldn't be so difficult. When the Manager tasked Mischief to do it, he was more than happy to go for the quickest route.
This meant taking paths that would definitely get you in trouble if one isn't careful. And this sinner wasn't exactly someone who understands that exact risk.
Pushy Ruffian District 20 Citizen
Oi, kid. You got any time?
Mischief Sinner #28
Course I do, mate. None of it's for you, though!
Pushy Ruffian District 20 Citizen
I ain't asking. Hold still, will ya?
Mischief Sinner #28
Like hell I will. Shove this damn stick up your ass for me!
He was usually fine on his own, going far enough that it could land a single hit on the head and this stranger would easily go down. It doesn't end so soon, however, as more time-consuming denizens try their luck.
One goes down, another bounces back up. The sinner never quite goes for the kill, but he'd rather not go that far.
Mischief Sinner #28
Hey, hey! You guys think you're all that? I grew up in these kinds of streets, just like you! And I'm not giving up my time just because someone else needs it!
Mischief Sinner #28
...Wait a minute. Do I even have a watch?
Their prideful exclaimations attract more and more people. He suddenly gets the feeling that he's quite surrounded.
Mischief keeps swinging, though his hands start to grow tired. There's only so many swings with a stick one can do before it's time to bolt for it.
Luckily, in the midst of a growing chaos, a strong hand grabs Mischief and starts dragging him away from the scene.
Mischief Sinner #28
Whoa-!
Someone swiftly taking Mischief as one would with a naughty cat was not something he expected on his list today. Their heart nearly skips a beat, until it turns around to get a good look on who grabbed them.
Mischief Sinner #28
Hey...Hey...!
Mischief Sinner #28
I had that perfectly handled! What the hell are you doing here?
Meursault Sinner #5
The Manager requested I follow your trail under the pretense that you were bound to run into, I quote, "the wrong people".
Mischief Sinner #28
The wrong people? Why, you-! Put me down!
Meursault Sinner #5
Okay.
Meursault complies in placing Mischief down, and the two of them go on their way. Quickly, before more trouble could spark.
Meursault Sinner #5
I have noted the list of items requested. Two sticks of butter, One pound of Potatoes, Three Packs of Cheese—
Mischief Sinner #28
And a bunch of spices. Yeah, I got that all down. Don't even worry!
Meursault Sinner #5
It was good to make a reminder.
Mischief Sinner #28
Look, you didn't need to help back there! And you don't have to help now. I'm fine, see? Only five bruises.
Meursault Sinner #5
The Manager requested I assist you.
Mischief Sinner #28
Well, don't listen to the Manager. Go back home or something!
Meursault Sinner #5
The Manager requested I assist you.
The two of them stare at each other for a good minute. Mischief looks away, only a little defeated.
Mischief Sinner #28
...Uh. Well, I suppose I should at least thank you for saving me. I'm sure it wasn't easy. You're not hurt though, right?
Meursault Sinner #5
I am in adequate shape to proceed with any physical conflict that may occur, regardless of any injuries.
Mischief Sinner #28
So, you're hurt...? Are you sure you're okay???
Meursault squints, ever so slightly, as if processing whether he should make a proper answer. Mischief looks up and down at him, and whistles a bit. He wonders if Dante really did send him over as some kind of bodyguard, or if it was actually his own suggestion. There was a hint of care in those actions.
Meursault Sinner #5
.....
Meursault Sinner #5
The Manager requested I assist you.
Yet still, Meursault repeats himself for the third time. Maybe he couldn't be any more clear than that.
Mischief Sinner #28
Yeah, alright. You win. Maybe when things are a little less crazy I can treat you somehow. Would you like that, Meur?
Meursault Sinner #5
As long as the task at hand is completed first. I am not opposed to repayments.
Mischief Sinner #28
Great! Let's go, then. I know there's gotta be a store that sells the type of ice cream I really like...
The two of them go on their way with Mischief leading and Meursault walking behind, the latter more than ready to serve as a shield.